Afraid…

I am scared.

Not of the past, and not of the future,

I am afraid of the present.

The present is what holds lost memories of the past, ones I had buried deep in the abyss-which is my mind.

Memories I had forgotten I had.

It is a tiny, yet large fragment of my tomorrow.

A stepping stone.

My now is what matters.

The most crucial lines of my story, written during my teenage years.

My chest; Fluttering butterflies searching for a way out. 

My fingers; filled with a constant tingly sensation. 

Both,reminders of my purpose, and reminders to never give up on my ambitions.

No longer able to hide from the possibilities of my future.

I need a running start.

I am scared of the present.

The music I once longed to hear, a tragic reminder of what I left behind.

Though the silence is filled with the roaring sound of my thoughts.

A new song.

A sweet melody,

One of growth, passion ,and dedication 

One of new beginnings symbolizing the denouement of a chapter I had already written.

I am scared to grow up.

I want more from my life.

Dance with the possibilities of what I can become.

Hop on another roller coaster

But stay on this time.

Learn to be my own superhero in times of defeat,

No longer waiting to be saved.

Catch my dreams in the palms of my hands as I watch the ups and downs of life storm by.

I am petrified.

Summary:

This poem symbolizes new beginnings as a teenager, and the feelings of fearfulness and panic associated with the idea of growing up. Recently I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed in my grade 12 year of high school, as the external pressures of other’s expectations have started to become a bit of an overwhelming factor. I am now starting to realize the importance of my decisions in the present, and the impact they have on my future. Through this journey however I am willing to learn and grow from my experiences, and many mistakes. The piece as a whole is reminiscent of the current state of my life. I had also wanted to highlight my personal growth associated with the huge change, while still maintaining the common theme of the constant anxiety connected with that change. The choppy sentence structure symbolizes my thoughts and how they constantly jump from one place to another.

Featured Image:https://giphy.com/gifs/art-animation-girl-3otOKPSM7qDyoP4XkI

One thought on “Afraid…”

  1. Dear Khushman,
    I enjoyed reading your free write, I liked how you talked about your journey as a teenager and how at the very end of your piece you find the real you. I really enjoyed reading about your whole experience of your journey on finding yourself, I like how at the start of your piece you started of as scared and by the end you had this beautiful breakthrough and even though you are still scared it shows how you embraced this feeling instead of running from it. I believe you wrote this piece quite beautifully.

    Although this amazing piece was a delight to read. I would suggest try to included some imagery in your piece just to give it a little more depth, this can give a huge perspective and a inside look on your thoughts and feelings. Other then that I don’t think I would say anything else for improvement, I think you are an amazing writer.
    I am looking forward to read your other pieces in the future!

    Sincerely,
    Karishma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *